My Own Digital Identity

This week for my ecmp355 class, we are supposed to “google” ourselves by using DuckDuckGo and see what comes up. Well, I was quite surprised with some of the things that came up… accounts that sure aren’t me!! But thankfully, the first few things that did show up, were my own accounts.

Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 11.23.08 AMScreen Shot 2017-03-13 at 11.24.46 AM Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 11.24.26 AMScreen Shot 2017-03-13 at 11.23.17 AM

I should mention, that this isn’t the first time I’ve googled myself… I’ve already learned from past experiences that I should probably make everything that I can private. So a couple of years ago, I decided to make all of my accounts private, like Instagram and my personal twitter account (my facebook has already been insanely private for as long as I can remember). Now that I am using twitter for professional purposes, I have made my account public again but deleted my old personal account.

It was nice to see that I even had my Prezi account public because even if they were only high school presentations, they’re still decent presentations and could help with future assignments for others in the future or even prove to future employers that yes, I do know how to use a computer! (It’s the worst when teachers have zero knowledge about computers, it’s sad because students are missing out on that learning opportunity). However, I was looking at my presentations and realized that I made a presentation all about myself with information the public probably doesn’t need to know… so I deleted that REAL QUICK!!

There were also links that came up involving my last name such as obituaries of family members and my uncles business (Hornoi Leasing). Which is pretty irrelevant for future employers, but also kind of cool to know that my family has such a big, successful business.

Now for the bad part… 

Further down the search page, it starts to be accounts that aren’t me – my friends and family know for sure that it’s not me, but someone who doesn’t know me could possibly think that it is me which could turn out very badly! Take a look at what came up…

Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 11.25.43 AM

The problem with false information coming up… my future career! Espeically with becoming a teacher, it’s improtant that my digital identity is perfect… I wouldn’t be able to teach a class if the school board thought that these false accounts with my name are actually me!

All in all, nothing is really private and we all need to be very careful with what we post on social media – it controls our future.

Leave a Reply

