Single Stories

Which “single stories” were present in your own schooling? Whose truth mattered?
How has your upbringing/schooling shaped how you “read the world?” What biases and lenses do you bring to the classroom? How might we unlearn/work against these biases?

In my school, the single story that really stands out to me is my Social Studies class where it is clear now that we only learned from one perspective – a white, males point of view. But when I was in class learning all of these things, I for sure didn’t realize that the information could be false or that there’s always more than one side of the story and I was only learning the one side. And if we had questions about the other points of view, we were taught not to ask those questions or the teacher would switch the answer a little bit so that we were continuing to talk about the same sides point of view. All of this became clear to me when I came to university. I took an INDIG100 course that opened my eyes, I learned everything for the first time – everything I learned in high school wasn’t the exact truth since it was from the white males perspective. Therefore, I never learned much about aboriginal people and their stories.

I find that today, I try my best to have an open mind and listen to other perspectives from different cultures but sometimes it’s a little bit difficult because I have been taught to look from a white males perspective for so long. When having my own classroom, I believe that it is extremely important to teach students both sides of the story, it is up to them so agree with the side of their choice… teachers are there to guide them, not make the decision for them!

Leave a Reply

