New York Style

I have been really sick for the past couple of weeks, but I’m back and ready to share recent baking experiences with all of you!

My absolute favorite cake in the entire world is cheesecake! Every time my mom and I go to visit my cousins in Edmonton, we HAVE to go to the cheesecake factory and even though there are so many different kinds of cheesecake, I still can’t seem to get anything besides the classic New York cheesecake. So when I was looking for different cheesecake recipes, I came across a youtube video called “cheesecake factory’s original cheesecake recipe” and I couldn’t possibly pass up this recipe!! The channel, PopSugarFood,  has a whole bunch cool “copy cat” recipes… definitely had to subscribe to them!

The cheesecake recipe isn’t as difficult as I thought it would be, but it is WAY longer than any other cake I’ve ever made. So here we go:

STEP 1: set your oven to 325· (sometimes I don’t give my oven enough time to warm up before I’m done mixing all of my ingredients, my oven takes FOREVER to heat up… I’m sure I’ll learn eventually).

To make the crust you’ll need…
  • 1/2 cup almonds, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup graham crackers, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup vanilla waffers, finely chopped
  • 2 tbsp unalted butter, melted
To make the filling you’ll need…
  • 24 oz. cream cheese
  • 1 1/3 cups sugar
  • 5 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 2 tsp. lemon juice
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 16 oz. sour cream

The biggest thing with cheesecake, is being patient! It’s important to not move the cake into extremely different temperatures, it causes cracks in the cake… NOT GOOD. Which is why you have to follow the 4 time consuming steps:

  1. Bake in the oven for an hour and a half
  2. When done baking, shut off the oven and open the door slightly BUT keep the cake inside of the oven to start cooling down (for about an hour)
  3. When the oven is cooled off, take the cake out of the oven and let it continue to cool off on the counter
  4. When completely cooled, place the cake in the fridge for at least 12 hours 

So when I wanted to back the cake and then EAT IT THAT NIGHT, my dreams were slightly crushed…


I watched a few videos and each one was slightly different, and some of them didn’t overly look as appetizing as the cheesecake factory one. Unlike some youtube videos, this one was super helpful!!

Now fun fact: the only reason I didn’t have a berry topping, well we have allergies in the house so we avoided that! However, even though the cheesecake is perfect the way it is, I still thought that it would be even better if I added something (and would look prettier duh). So I added some chocolate and caramel sauce… oh boy it was so good!!

 

IMG_6003.JPG

Until next time – Happy Baking 🙂

One thought on “New York Style

  1. Pingback: It’s sad to say goodbye | Keanna Hornoi

Leave a Reply

